Remembering Terje Bakken

13_valfar

I remembered something the other day when I was out and about in town and it was that Terje Bakken is gone. I had to stop what I was doing and just stand there while my blood ran cold. When I arrived back home I immediately put Likferd on.

Unfortunately I never met Terje, but his music has had a profound influence on my life. When I first visited Sogndal and the surrounding areas several years ago I knew it was where I would like to live out my days.

I know there are others of you out there whom have been left influenced by Terje and his monumental music, and I have a feeling that there are times when you have felt the same feeling as I – the blood running cold feeling when you remember.

I feel enormously grateful that he created such a powerful discography, and that, for the rest of my life I will always have it to return to time after time after time. I am also forever grateful to his brother Vegard for taking to the stage last year and enabling the true spirit of Sognametal to be felt by crowds once again.

Never forget.

Leave a Reply

