The Witches & Wraiths Of Instagram : Midwinter Crone

I’ve been following the work of French photographer Samantha Charrazac for quite some time on Tumblr, but only recently have I encountered the ethereal creative on Instagram. Her page is one of my favourite places to stop, scroll and stare. Instagram works beautifully well as a gallery for her photography, and it’s a truly thrilling moment when she uploads something new.

Samantha’s deep-seated passion for nature, occultism and mythology is translated into photographs that could very easily be mistaken for paintings. When I look at her work, I can’t help but be drawn into the world of one of my favourite artists, the late John Bauer, who just so happens to be one of Samantha’s artistic inspirations. It feels, in some ways, like Samantha is carrying on his legacy through much of her work.

“I know that I have died before, once in November.” (Anne Sexton)

A post shared by Memories Are Haunted Places (@midwintercrone) on

In less than a week, I will be haunting these mountains' forests again. 🌲🌑

A post shared by Memories Are Haunted Places (@midwintercrone) on

A shadow haunting the castle's fireplace.

A post shared by Memories Are Haunted Places (@midwintercrone) on

Forever haunting the meadows.

A post shared by Memories Are Haunted Places (@midwintercrone) on

Last winter. I wish it would snow right now but it's just raining… #winter #snow #Ovate #deerskull

A post shared by Memories Are Haunted Places (@midwintercrone) on

Leave a Reply

